Cannes Film Festival award winners

The 68th edition of the Cannes Film Festival, of which the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is a partner, confirmed the undeniable vitality of French cinema: Of the five feature films in competition, three received awards and the Palme d’Or was awarded to Jacques Audiard for “Dheepan.”

The partnership with the festival’s president, Pierre Lescure, and his staff has notably resulted in the mobilization of the French cultural network abroad in support of the festival’s internationalization policy. The Institut français, which is charged with promoting cultural action abroad, hosted the "Fabrique des Cinémas du monde" program again this year aimed at supporting the emergence of young talent from countries in the South.

Films supported by the "Aide aux cinémas" fund, jointly managed by the Institut français and the National Film and Moving Image Center (CNC), also received awards. Several films supported by this scheme were recognized this year:

- Competition: Jury Prize: “The Lobster” directed by Yorgos Lanthimos;

- Directors’ Fortnight: Europa Cinemas Label prize: “Mustang” directed by Denis Gamze Ergüven;

- Critics’ Week: Grand Prize and FIPRESCI International Critics’ Prize: Santiago Mitre’s “Paulina;”

- Un Certain Regard Prize: Best Director Award: Kiyoshi Kurosawa for “Journey to the Shore” and Un Certain Talent Prize: “The Treasure” by Corneliu Porumboiu’s (Romania).

Last modified on 28/05/2015

top of the page